Vox Pop Goes GLOBE-al

I’m the guest blogger this morning at The Globe and Mail’s book blog, “In Other Words”. The subject is last night’s big Munro-Athill meeting. According to the Globe, I’m still a “Mississauga-based poet”, and I still edit for Thieves Jargon. It’s time to update the ol’ bio, methinks. First paragraph to follow and then a link to the original source:

Ambassadors of Happiness

On Wednesday night, I had the pleasure of watching (from the back row, wedged between volunteers and other late-comers) Diana Athill and Alice Munro engage in a spirited and surprisingly natural conversation at the Fleck Theatre on Day 1 of the IFOA. While I knew Munro’s work far better than that of her English guest, I found Athill to be a woman inescapably charmed by an air of relatability. She really did come across as the ideal eccentric aunt, wise and bawdy and conspiratorial. And Munro gladly supported the great memoirist as a sort of junior partner (which, at 78 to Athill’s 92, she is), feeding her questions, elaborating on her answers, and generally redirecting the massive wave of pro-Munro fanhood emanating from the crowd towards the woman sitting in the opposite chair.

See it all right here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Canadian Literature, Newspapers

3 Comments on “Vox Pop Goes GLOBE-al”

  1. Remi Says:

    I met Alice Munro in Stratford this summer. She went to the same afternoon matinee of Bartholomew Fair as I did. While I’d love to say we had a great meaningful conversation, the truth is I fell victim to some fanboy gushing and a little stammering. She was nice, though.

  2. D.C. Says:

    Very nice blog post on the Globe and Mail. I really need to get out to see the various events that the arts community holds.


  3. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .

    net from PHP. I have always disliked the

    idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on
    a variety of websites for about a year and am worried about

    switching to another platform. I have heard fantastic things
    about blogengine.net. Is

    there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!


Leave a Reply

