Knotting-Offs: George Murray and Sina Queyras

I was exciting to wake up this afternoon (I work nights, so this is wake-up time for me) and see top ten lists from two of my very favourite Canadian book bloggers. George Murray made my day last month by saying he was a fan of this blog, as the man behind Bookinja George is something of the Larry King of this little world, so I took his kind words to heart. And he’s followed through on a promise to make his own top ten list, his is international in scope, and of poets instead of individual books. He means everything he says, though, and it’s nice to see his sharp wit turned to something other than “the ongoing controversy over Kindles and other e-readzzzzzzzzz”

Sina Queyras is another blogger I shadowed (and continue to shadow) before starting Vox Pop. Any blog that can have a string of posts that go: music video, poetry review, comedy bit, guest essay on appropriations pretty much has me at Hello. Her list (of collections, and specifically Canadian collections) shares a lot of titles with mine.

Sina and I even have a number of shared near-misses and honourable mentions. I’ll be posting my honourable mentions, along with some notes about the politics of list-making, shortly. Then it’ll be Knotting-Off #1 before or during Christmas, and this little affair is done. Thanks to you adorable kittens who have emailed me saying what they think #1 will be, this being my favourite guess so far (I’m an egotist, yes, but not a masochist). If anybody actually gets it right between now and then, I promise glorious prizes.

Explore posts in the same categories: Canadian Literature, Fellow Bloggers, Poems in the Wider World, Top Ten of the 2000s

7 Comments on “Knotting-Offs: George Murray and Sina Queyras”


  1. Larry King. I… I… I’m so sad.

  2. voxpopulism Says:

    I of course meant Larry King, in 1985. When he was intrepid, interesting, and at least a six out of ten.


  3. It’s too late, Jake. The damage is done. Your number one pick better be The Hunter.

  4. voxpopulism Says:

    Damn. So you’re telling me I just wasted like a week of my life writing about “Carousel”?


  5. It’s never a waste… We’ll surely see it in the LRB soon.


  6. Funny thing about that is I had to do the math to be sure it was published this decade…. I’m losing touch of the edges. Out in the mind’s cornfield these days.


  7. Funny thing about that is I had to do the math to be sure it was published this decade…. I’m losing touch of the edges. Out in the mind’s cornfield these days.


Leave a Reply

