“What I’d like is for this to be a slightly more imaginative country.”

My defence of Leon Rooke’s excellent new collection of short stories, The Last Shot, is now up on The Afterword, the book blog of The National Post. I’ve enjoyed listening to the defences and am excited to read all the involved books, but I think I’m backing the best horse in the race. You can read my column on the book here, and vote for your favourite right here. Also, you can head back to The Afterword at 1pm EST on this coming Monday (that’s the 8th of March) to follow the eight-way clusterfuck of live discussion The Post is hosting for us panelists. Have fun, kids.

Explore posts in the same categories: Awards, Canadian Literature, Newspapers

One Comment on ““What I’d like is for this to be a slightly more imaginative country.””

  1. Brian Palmu Says:

    Rooke is wonderful. Thanks for pointing out his latest.


Leave a Reply

