October: Like April, except unpleasantly chilled.

This is a what-I’m-up-to-lately kind of post. I’m up to a lot. I am vibrant and fun.

I’m having the kind of week where, if I didn’t have a full time job to go to, I’d still be too busy. I’m booklaunch-hopping tonight after my class at Of Sparrows to my friend Dominico Capilongo‘s launch for Quattro at Supermarket (7pm), then down Augusta Avenue to the Mansfield Press launch, featuring new collections from Peter Norman (interviewed here back in the summer) and Leigh Nash. Wednesday I don’t have the benefit of clustered geography, so I’m going to George Murray’s launch in the East end and forsaking the Tao Lin reading closer to home at Type Books.

And, quite excitingly, the IFOA starts this week. Lots of awesome stuff happening that I probably won’t get to. If you’d like to see me wear a suit (Fair warning: You do, I look incredible), you can come on Friday to cheer me on as I attempt to get through a night in close proximity to my seventeen-year-old self’s #1 hero, Mr. John Waters. Waters is coming to town to promote his memoir. If I concentrate, I might get through the whole night without trying to kiss him right on his beautiful mustache. G&M film reviewer, and Bridgewater, NS native, Richard Crouse, is interviewing Waters as well. That’s what we used to call a Lunenburg County John Waters Sandwich.

I’m hosting next week too, on Thursday. It’s a omnibus reading at the Studio Theatre featuring Eleanor Catton, Adam Gopnik, Adam Lewis Schroeder, and M.T. Kelly.

This stuff is all free to those who can prove they go to school somewhere in Toronto, incidentally. And cheap for those who can’t.

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Industry, Events, Interviews

One Comment on “October: Like April, except unpleasantly chilled.”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Stephen Rowe, Jacob M. Mooney. Jacob M. Mooney said: From the blog: This is a what-I’m-up-to-lately kind of post. I’m up to a lot. I am vibrant and fun. http://t.co/9xpgTyO […]


Leave a Reply

