Two Quick Hitters: CNQ, NP.ca

Hello boys and girls.

I got my contributor’s copy of the new CNQ today. Hot shit, that’s a beautiful-looking magazine. You should get a copy from your local salesperson. Here’s the link with the names of contributors more famous and worthy than my own. My contribution, for the record, consists of three poems from Folk. One is about RADAR, one is about naming conventions, and one is about geography. I hope you like them.

Also, I just saw a link to George Murray’s new science project, newpoems.ca. This could be something. The introduction is incredibly ambitious and very passionate: “I’m sick of borders. I’m sick of silos. Bunkers, too. Don’t even get me started on garrisons. I’m sick of the various poetries and poets I read and admire fighting and carping about each other instead of collaborating constructively (however that is interpreted between artists) to generate new poetic possibilities. I’m sick of judgments and systems of criticism that involve aesthetic preference over intellectual accomplishment, that reward attendance and loyalty over risk and depth, that spend more time tromping on the art and experiments of others than perfecting their own. I’m sick of lack of space for difference, or at least for difference within the same pages.”

If you’re against that sentiment, you’re against motherhood. But, you’re probably also not reading this blog, at least not with my permission. It’s an idea born of innumerable late-night barroom tirades, and I’ve heard it attached to more than a couple start-up literary projects in my short time involved with the community. The problem has historically been that everyone has slightly different definitions for what all those above words mean (and that’s a good thing, for what it’s worth, both for poetry and for poets). However, if anyone has the plural focus, and the wide net of friends, to pull it off, it’d be George. Should be worth watching, I wish the dude well.

-Jake

Explore posts in the same categories: Canadian Literature, Fellow Bloggers, Journals, Poems in the Wider World, What Jake Did

3 Comments on “Two Quick Hitters: CNQ, NP.ca”

  1. newfiegooner Says:

    Agreed Jake, George’s idea can really take off. There needs to be more room for variety and change. The only thing I wonder is how this will all play out in a country cutting art’s spending and the loss of small literary publications. A noble effort to combat the inevitable result of such a trend.

  2. voxpopulism Says:

    Looks like something that could be done on the cheap (and by “the cheap” I mean everyone working for free). If there’s a taste for this, and people are willing to give of themselves, then I don’t see how funding levels will matter. The good thing about arts cuts is they are incapable of deterring the inspired.


  3. […] Jacob Mooney’s blog […]


Leave a Reply

