“Canada Reads?” -Poetry

The other newspapery thing happening today is the announcement of the panel, and chosen books, for Canada Reads Poetry. I’m on the panel, defending Erin Moure’s (apologies to Erin for WordPress’s complete disinterest in allowing for accents) Sheep’s Vigil by a Fervent Person. I love that book. I also love the three of the four other books on the list that I’ve read. I’ll get around to the fourth when it comes in the mail.

The story on this promotion is a little weird. The dudes at The Afterword put a call out for nominations in, like, December, and whereas I really enjoyed working with them when I did their “Canada Also Reads” promotion the previous year, I was all over. Then like four months went by, and I got an email saying CRP was a go, but was now going to be a co-promotion with CBC Books. This was confusing to me, as I had thought CBC Books was who were were making fun of with the whole idea of doing a version of their contest for under-appreciated fiction, and now poetry.

I thought about it a bit, and while people who are prone to hearing my complaints will know I’ve had some issues with how CBC Books [pimps] markets Canadian literature, I’m still in. If The Afterword thinks it’s a good idea, than I think it’s a good idea.

My mind is open, my soul is pure. My heart breaks at the thought of fan opinion polls. I will play nice with everyone. I apologize for the “pimps” remarks above already. See? An open mind, a willingness to bend.

-Jake

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Industry, Canadian Literature, Collaborations, Newspapers

Leave a Reply

