Afterword this week, Launch tonight

Hi all.
I’m doing the National Post’s guest editor spot on their blog, The Afterword, this week. I’ve written a three-part essay on the subject of alias. The first part is up now. It’s a little dry compared to the next two in the set (think: Star Wars!). I promise it will get good. By the end of the third part, I will have publicly admitted to no fewer than twelve incidents of employment fraud. In the near future, I’ll fill in this post with links to part two here, and part three here.

Also, a final obnoxious reminder that Folk is launching in Toronto tonight. It’s at the Dora Keogh pub, which is right at Broadview station. It’s not that far. Your mothers used to walk five miles to go to school.

Knowing I need to pace myself re: book launches this month, mine’s going to be as low-cardio as possible. First, we’re all going to drink a bit. Then I’m going to get up and read for, like, 5 minutes. Then we’re all going to drink more. End of show. If you’re asking me, “What time does it start?” then I’m afraid you’ve missed the point of the above schedule. Well, okay, it starts at 7:00, in that if you get there before 7:00, likely no one will be there. But get there whenever after 7:00 you feel like. I’ll be around, and more charming by the minute.

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Industry, Events, Newspapers, Toronto Poetry Cult

2 Comments on “Afterword this week, Launch tonight”

  1. easyandy Says:

    Interesting essay on a topic that, due to it’s nature, can’t be discussed in real time. Who knows what alter egos of this day will be revealed in essays ten years from now…

    I myself am a heteronym. Though I resent the name, as we prefer Hat Heads and have been pushing for a union since the early days of Andreas Karavis.

  2. voxpopulism Says:

    Cheers, Andy. And thanks.

    I actually don’t really love the word “heteronym”, as accurate as it might be to the situation. Or pseudonym. I like alias because I feel it A. isn’t just for writers and B. carries something of the connotation of time-dependence, I feel. If you have an alias, you occupy it for a length of time (completely), and then move off to another identity when finished. People with split personalities, for example, are medically mandated to alias, while more generalized neurotics are left with heteronymity. The former is cleaner.

    I apologize for that mental health metaphor. A touch crude, for readers dealing with either of the conditions employed in service of my cleverness.


Leave a Reply

