We’re done here.

Hi all.

Thanks for reading this space. As many of you had guessed, Vox Pop is done. Today’s piece in the National Post’s Afterword book section talks a bit about why. I blame myself. And you, too.

Don’t be unhappy though. I’m definitely not unhappy. This is a clean break. You’ll hear from me via a handful of announcements due to tinkle over the wires in the coming month or so, and from those there will be more projects, more trouble to get into, all the normal stuff.

I shall see you on the real Earth.

Love,
Jake

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized, What Jake Did

2 Comments on “We’re done here.”

  1. Jay Miller Says:

    Hey Jake we have the same name,

    Your article is very appreciated.

    I started Literatured, my own Canadian poetry-focussed blog with some friends in May 2011. It allowed me to call myself a member of the press and meet amazing poet/journalist types such as Michael Lista and Carey Toane among others. You can see though that blogs have to combat their falling out in their raison d’etre, as I tried to do when starting it. University work hit me hard closer to my first exam period in December, and the site’s inactivity is only a silent shame to my local reputation as the get’er-done hip kid with tech-know-how, will, and sometimes, gumption! My nerves were fraught with curbing ambitions but I eventually had to forget about my worries before I could deal with them.

    I plan to continue writing durng the summer. Stuart Ross has a great site called Meet the Presses that has provided me with plenty of contacts. I got to review a release by New York Review Books last year, met the OpenBook staff at the Kingston WritersFest, and made plenty of useful, warm, or interesting contacts. I plan to change my agenda though.

    I’m a polyglot in training. Like Joyce I study Modern Languages in school and though my spoken skills are often blush-worthy, my comprehension with accents and texts amaze me, though in private, because that’s how we read poetry in general. I could quote Puskin, Pessoa, Bolaño, Schiller, Petrarch, in the original, to validate my opinion that poets seek solitude. Think about it, all those generations, all those movements, all those cultures, and still, the conclusion holds true: the development of the poet is a development of his esoteric intellect.

    My idea or fantasy is to post translations on my website. Not entire book length works, but commentaries on the lesser known. Did you know the Jews wrote a long poem called Das Kanada in Yiddish? Did you know Walter Bauer was comparing Canada to Europe decades ago after arriving here and working in as lousy positions as Bukowski did? What about the anthropologic aspects of Kerouac’s work on recording Patois lyrics? Literary Canada has much more to its literary culture than the standard English and French works, and I think I have the ability to reveal that though to an unfortunately small audience. I don’t think your thoughts on this change in content would give you much more hope for my pastime, though it’d be nice to hear if you have any response for me and my ideas.

    I think I’m about ready to start publishing my poetry (which I never post on my site) with the contacts I’ve acquired in the past year. My current aspirations as a writer is to secure some sort of fellowship for when I am done university, like Pound did. Until then, I figure I’m gonna keep writing.

  2. Ava Lianna Says:

    Hi., I looked at to your article,It was really awesome to read here.Thanks for sharing this wonderful article to here.I like it very much.Share more updates.
    seo consultants


Leave a Reply

